Elephants or Angels?

Growing up I was always my mothers little Elephant. It was endearing and I knew I was so Loved.

Rach on bike

As I grew up I doubted the beauty of the elephant. They were large, lumbering creatures, placid but strong and vicious when pushed into a corner and threatened. I distanced myself early and named myself “Rachael the Angel”. I liked the beauty and grace of the Angels far more than an elephant. Rachael the Angel became my name within my family as I grew up and even as an adult I received gifts of Angels with reference to this.

Now, looking at the way elephants care so gently for their young; they nurture and protect them and teach them the ways of the world. Little Elephant it is truly a beautiful term of endearment. And to embody the spirit of the Elephant is truly worthy. They have long memories, strong family connections, are loyal and do what needs to be done for those they Love.

I truly Love the resonance of Angels in my life, but I equally Love the resonance of Elephants too. I have come to understand there is beauty and truth in what people say, it just sometimes takes a change in perspective, willingness to accept and time to heal.

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

