Limitations of predictions

Growing up I would often play the game of prediction and try to determine how I would react and what I would say in my interactions with people. The number of conversations I would have in my head was tiring, as I tried to figure out the other persons reactions as well. I’ve come to realize, upon reflection, that I wasted an awful lot of energy on conversations and interactions that never came into being. And those that did really went in directions that I never expected or predicted.

Predictions of how people will react or even could react is limiting because there are so many combinations and permutations involving so many facts that we don’t know of that I have found they rarely come to mind. And the greatest limiting fact is that whilst we are predicting we are no longer in the present moment but far away in the future limiting our ability to live a fulfilling wonderful life.

The other limiting factor is that we can become so enmeshed in getting the prediction right that we force that person into reacting in such a way through our body language, our tone and the words we use that we can even put words in their mouth and they become manipulated into making us right.

How empowering would it be to allow the past and future drama to stay in the past and future and simply allow the relationships to flourish and flounder free of our predictive powers. To allow surprise, excitement and the limitless possibilities to be explored within each of our connections. To give ourselves the freedom of simply being.

I am not implying prediction is not important in certain areas of life, it is a great tool, but as our experience with drugs like thalidomide and the Y2K bug predictions do have the limitation of what we can imagine happening.

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Connections, Insight, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

