Balancing Being with Doing

The Spiritual catch phrase is that DOING is not what is important but simply BEING is enough. This gets really confusing because I feel I have to do a lot and I am not always sure what BEING means, sure sitting there in a Zen like pose is BEING but I haven’t got the time for that!. A house filled with people requires a lot of doing as it becomes a bit unstable when things are not done! For example my sons sports clothes which he required for school this morning had not been washed over the weekend…wearing dirty sports clothes is not a great start to the week. Why did this occur? I was unwell and did not do the washing as required to keep the household in a healthy state.

So why is there such a emphasis on Being when we know that Doing is so important? In days gone by I defined myself by what I did. The Doing reflected in my opinion who I was. So failing to get the sports clothes washed in the past would have meant that I was the worlds worst Mother as I was not DOING my job well (yes I’m catastrophising!) Yet now that there is an emphasis on my Being I can see that what I DO is important but that it does not define who I am. So if I mess up in my DOING it does not mean I am lesser of a person. All that it now means to me is that I can improve in the future how I Do things.

A tree log is no longer doing, it is simply being. By BEING it provides shade, nutrients, places for animals to nest, hide, rest and view the world. Being is vital!

In all that I Do my Being can be fully present. My enjoyment of life can shine through on the murkiest of days. The Doing is important to get done but it is not a vital part of who we are. The Being aspect is in part, showing up, consciously engaging in life, and allowing our vitality and Love to shine through. My job, my DOING is not who I am, and I choose to not define myself based on any titles or how well I DO things. Instead I welcome the unexpected in life , I choose to make the most of each moment and I encourage the great diversity of people out there to see that their BEING is alive and well and is not defined by what they are DOING.

So today I am am feeling physically unwell, yet my Being is alive and well. I am choosing to rest when I can, care for myself by drinking lots of fluids, write a blog, keep up to date with friends, see the doctor and get that washing done. In all of this I am BEING myself and enjoying each aspect of my day when I am DOING for myself and DOING for others. For me there is no greater gift than being able to support myself and others with Love, this is communicated through what I do, but it is not defined by it.

BEING is not mutually exclusive to DOING. So Do what is needed each day bringing the vitality of your BEING into each moment, knowing that it is the BEING that reflects and defines who you are, not the DOING or the achievements.

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

