Inner Happiness

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wanted to share with you the idea of happiness. In the last week, actually the last few weeks I have connected with happiness in a new way. It hasn’t been that any one thing has been so amazing that I have experienced happiness, it has more felt like I have approached each situation with a pre-disposition or choice to experience happiness. So I am beginning to think through my experience that happiness is an internal experience that requires a choice by the person to let go of the dramas and negativity and approach each moment with a sense of inner knowing that there is magic in each moment.

Just this week I got to attend a presentation by Caroline Myss with a great friend of mine who I go walking with twice a week at 6 am; I watched my son dress up in his dads suit and attend his formal; he looked so gorgeous and had so much fun dancing away all night. I was very proud when I attended his graduation from middle school too! On Saturday my husband and I checked out the new multi-million dollar library that has just opened and it was super amazing and all free! We explored and checked out the amazing view over our city. In the afternoon I got to meet the deputy prime minister of our country and talk to her about the plight of the asylum seekers and what humanitarian efforts we were making as a country to assist. That evening my husband and I kicked back in our backyard with a fire and a bottle of bubbly to celebrate the beautiful evening. the kids got hungry at about 9 pm, so we ate dinner then. Sunday was also a wonderful day. my older son got up and wanted to go shopping for jeans and new pair of shoes. We spent a few hours in town looking and finally purchasing both for under $100 combined. Much delight for both of us. He drove and practiced how to do a reverse park. Friends came over in the late afternoon and we chatted on the balcony until the wind became too cool.

So I will clarify, apart from meeting the deputy prime minister (special) and seeing Caroline Myss (expensive), the rest of these events were cheap, ordinary and yet amazingly delightful. And it’s not as if I’m personally on easy street. I am experiencing health issues including depression, dizziness and hearing difficulties at times, my body is still recovering from the surgery I had 11 months ago; there is still pain in my feet and back at times, the muscles in my neck, back and legs are tight because of balance issues; I’m still 30 kg overweight and am finding it difficult to combat; one of my children requires extensive support due to his anxiety and other complex issues…. Life ain’t simple and isn’t a breeze! Yet I am still finding happiness in life!

So happiness isn’t dependent on good health, lots of money, lack of pain , or being innately special or gifted with happiness…. happiness is a choice we can make independent of our life circumstance. It is finding the magic in each moment with child-like wonder, it is not fearing that the world will come crashing down if you are enjoying yourself. It is letting go of the attachments and rules that exist only in your head that you follow religiously and trusting that each new moment is a new day and with that you can get back to simply being you: Ordinary and full of brilliant life.

The choice is not always easy to make all of the time, and other emotions will come and go. I definitely had moments of feeling angry, sad, upset, anxious, there were times I rested exhausted (the Christmas tree is a huge effort and I often feel like I’m left to do it all after the good bits are done!) and felt really annoyed (I am human!)… but these experiences and feelings came, I felt them and dealt with them, they left and I was free to interact with happiness again. This is a journey that involves all dimensions of us, the emotional, physical, mental and spiritual. And I am coming to believe these are all equally present and important in our living and by embracing and nurturing them we discover our own wholeness and happiness within our very selves.

I really believe we live in an amazing world and each day give thanks to all that I experience in my life. I am allowed to be ordinary and I am. I am allowed to enjoy myself without apology and I am. I am connected to everyone else, so by nurturing me, I nurture the world and create more beauty  for everyone, and this is what you do to! Create the most beautiful world for you and the whole of the universe celebrates! Spread your happiness, shower it upon yourself and others and celebrate the wonderful small things in life and watch the beauty grow.

What is you experience of happiness and beauty?

 

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Connections, Energy, Healing, Insight, Spiritual connections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

