An Opinion Peace!

“An Opinion is exactly what it says; it’s an opinion, a thought process of an individual, having no power over another” – Jenny Funston

Phew what a relief! Opinions matter but they are simply the expression of a thought process that a person is having at the time. They only have greater power if the person receiving the opinion imbues it with more meaning by choosing to believe that it is fact, that they are under attack through this opinion or if the opinion was deliberately injected with emotion to create a specific response from the receiver.

Some people think that they cannot have an opinion as their opinion may effect and affect other people and this is bad!  So they fence sit and go through life at the mercy of others, supporting opinion but never weighing in with their own originality! Facebook is a prime example. I feel short changed every time I see the same quote or picture being shared or posted by my friends. I get that it has impacted on them momentarily, or they want to save it for the future, but surely there is more that they have to offer. I LOVE when people share their own opinions, their own creations, their own words. It means so much to connect with them at that point in time with what matters to them.

A thought process implies that through the power of time the thought process can be molded, exploded, re-formed and take on a completely new perspective. Love that an opinion is so malleable and doesn’t require on going maintenance and defense. Yes once I thought that and now I think this. My opinion changed! Watching any artist we can see the changes they go through. Back in 1995 we visited the Mondrian exhibition in the Nederlands on our honeymoon. The way the artistic expression, the opinion of the Mondrian changed through his life was quite phenomenal and a great challenge to us to not invest to much energy in trying to keep everything the same, but allowing the transformations to flow.

Tableau_I,_by_Piet_Mondriaan

“Tableau I, by Piet Mondriaan” by Piet Mondrian – Gemeentemuseum Den Haag. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Tableau_I,_by_Piet_Mondriaan.jpg#/media/File:Tableau_I,_by_Piet_Mondriaan.jpg

Piet_Mondrian,_1908-10,_Evening;_Red_Tree_(Avond;_De_rode_boom),_oil_on_canvas,_70_x_99_cm,_Gemeentemuseum_Den_Haag

“Piet Mondrian, 1908-10, Evening; Red Tree (Avond; De rode boom), oil on canvas, 70 x 99 cm, Gemeentemuseum Den Haag” by Piet Mondrian – Unknown. Licensed under Public Domain via Commons  https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Piet_Mondrian,_1908-10,_Evening;_Red_Tree_(Avond;_De_rode_boom),_oil_on_canvas,_70_x_99_cm,_Gemeentemuseum_Den_Haag.jpg#/media/File:Piet_Mondrian,_1908-10

Opinions matter, they reveal where our focus lays at that point in time. However, they do not reveal how we have come to the opinion we have, and with time how that opinion will change. An opinion is not a truth, it is the expression of thought. No more no less! So next time you are feeling irked by someones opinion, think is this my stuff (deal with it!), is it there stuff (don’t take it on, give it straight back) or is this simply a challenge to think differently; take the challenge and transform the world into a place of Peace and Beauty.

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Healing, Insight, Peace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Opinion Peace!

  1. maggies90 says:

    Thanks for your opinion on opinions!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

