Three Learnings today!!!

1.HALT

Hungry – Eat nutritiously and regularly

Angry – deal with each issue as it rises before it manifests badly and maintain physical activity

Lonely – give a friend or family member a call, create small regular catch ups

Tired – rest, meditate, sleep

This is an acronym used in Alcoholics Anonymous to assist people in looking after their needs and ensuring they don’t fall back into addictive ways. It came up in discussion about parenting and the damage that can be done when we resort to our default learning, treat others the way we were treated. The world has changed greatly in it’s expectations of the types of interactions that are now acceptable. Yet so often we see and hear the most ludicrous examples from people who know better. I know that personally when I am experiencing any of the above I am capable of hurt and harm to myself and others. When we experience one or more of these four, I can see how we revert to the most basic reactions. So this acronym can be used throughout the day to ensure that you are looking after yourself and thus able to offer the best of you in every interaction. For it to work though you need an effective response (in italics above!). When there is an issue, you feel you are reverting to old habits/learnings, think H.A.L.T., if you need the time to attend to one of these do so, then when satisfied return to the issue. Thanks to Eoghan

2. No Questions

At the end of each day debrief with yourself or someone else. Are there any questions? Questions may include

  • I should have…
  • I could have…
  • I’m not sure if…
  • Maybe….

If there are questions deal with them straight away. If you feel unsure about what you have experienced talk to someone and share your doubts, get that second opinion.

The idea is to feel that you have done all that you can to the best of your ability for what is required. Lifting the weight of questions off your shoulders can reduce stress, anxiety and depression and give you a sense of ownership, pride, and success and a restful sleep. Now I want some of that! Thanks to Annie

3. Own It

This is my writing and I am Loving it! Yet when I speak about it to others I act a bit sheepish and almost apologize for how bad it is (apparently this is very common in women and a part of the protective default used to keep “safe”). Till now I have not been owning it! So I am here to say I am proud of all of my writing, it is changing and growing with me. I enjoy writing and it is my work. I am proudly an unemployed, energetic, diverse blogger who uses her daily interactions with the world as inspiration for self improvement, challenge and growth. I share my work on Facebook and I will find other avenues with which to share my unique skills and insights. Thanks to Janet

 

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Connections, Depression, Healing, Insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

