Hawaii – Day 2 of our family healing journey

Hoping in this post you can see the change a bit of sleep and a shift in perspective has on the way I was feeling. Home is wherever your family are, and once we settled we were safe, secure and able to move on again with simple being, small moment, by small moment.IMG_0131

Wednesday 16th July 2014

Good morning Hawaii. Second day and who knows what’s in store. No plans laid down so we simply get to eating breakfast, eggs and bacon. The boys have some cut up fruit and C has some rice crackles (bubbles). Breakfast on the veranda is delightful. The gentle breeze and overhead clouds keep the temperature down. We decide to head around to Waimea bay to do some snorkeling. Just before lunch E decides he wants a swim. So we quickly get organised. Just E and I this time. The waves are bigger and there are only two other people in the water. We get in and last there less than 5 minutes. It is cooler and more refreshing, no wave catching. We walk back on to the beach and E is dying of thirst. He races back to the house, forgetting the thongs. I go back and grab them. When I get to the house I find E lying on the grass, panting. His glass of water is on the veranda, I grab it and take it down to him. I sit with him as I drip dry on a banana lounge. It is peaceful. When he calms down somewhat he heads in for a shower. He stays in there for a long while I hope he is okay. C meanwhile is enjoying his time on his iPhone. He is doing what he loves. I make no complaints. I enjoy the grass and kicking back. This is what holidays are for.

After lunch, around 2pm we (Hubby, C and I) head off on our adventure for the day. We drive past shrimp farms, lots of roadside cafes selling shrimp, craft, farm goods, corn, not real shops more like lean twos and caravans. OH&S would have a field day I’m guessing. We do not stop…on a mission to snorkel. We miss the Shark Bay parking area and instead turn into the Sacred Valley – Waimea waterfall.

It looks beautiful so we head down the road and make the decision to go exploring away from the beach. It is a beautifully established garden full of plants from around the world including Hawaii. The rocks are spectacular. It’s history is that it was kept secret for a long while by the local priests as a way prayer and some royalty were buried there, the waters are described as being healing, however there has been great rainfall prior to our arrival so the waterfall was running too fast for us to go for a swim. We stopped for an ice-cream, I had the double chocolate ice-cream sandwich. What a highlight. It was delicious delightful and filling. So I savored every mouthful. E “relaxed” at home. He wasn’t up for anything else after his swim.

We then headed back to Shark Bay, snorkels in hand we wandered down to the beach. New highlight the sand, it was big granules and thus didn’t stick to your feet, so much joy! The water was beautiful. C came in but wasn’t interested in snorkelling, so Hubby and I headed out. It was beautiful, although to be honest Heron Island left it for dead. Decision made, Heron island holiday in two years time, a week, how gorgeous. We meandered back home stopping at Turtle Bay resort to check out the helicopters and the supermarket to pick up some sunnies and a few more supplies for dinner. No alcohol for sale in Laie, it is a Mormon town/area so we figure that is why, and it really doesn’t worry me.

E is fine when we arrive home. Hubby has declared he’s not really interested in the helicopter ride. I so want to do it, so I figure I just need to make it happen. C is up for it too I think. I make some lemon and mint iced lemonades, they are well appreciated by all. Hubby and I sit on the veranda enjoying the breeze and a few nibbles. It is really nice. Hubby fires up the BBQ, and I make an awesome pineapple/mint salad. Candy Crush is getting a great work out. Hubby loves his iPhone. Between the games, the tweets and messages it is keeping him well entertained. E and C join us for dinner. It is a delight to be sitting together enjoying a meal. E doesn’t stay long. I believe his girlfriend is online and they are busy chatting. As we clean up I notice the stars. They are beautiful, even through the light pollution they are amazing. I watch a few different satellites pass overhead. We sit out under the stars allowing our minds to relax and take it all in. I don’t recognize these stars, they are different to home. There are two stars very close together. I have never seen that. I read a book and unwind. I feel better about this journey we are on as a family. I have been releasing responsibility for everyone else’s experience. I can only support, not live for them or through them. So I decide to put some of this in writing, and that is what you are now reading. Better than it all sitting in my head. Present moment thinking; releasing the past. When everyone is finally in bed I turn in too. I cuddle with Hubby. It isn’t too hot. It feels lovely and safe and secure. I still struggle to sleep. So Rosemary Santos (meditation) gets a workout again. I drift off and wake up feeling more refreshed.

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Connections, Energy, Healing, Parenting, Social Phobia, Teenagers, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

