Day 4: bring on the culture!

Friday 18th July 2014

Sleep was fulfilling, I enjoyed the bliss of waking up to the day knowing I had slept well and it was already 8:30am. Woo Hoo! A breakfast of Rice Crackles and a coffee saw me on my way. Not much to do so sat around. Hubby was asking me if I had been on Facebook and showed me some messages, so I posted a short update on his site, and signed off as me. We walked to the beach and Hubby went for a swim. I chatted about the amount of time I felt he was spending on his phone and how I felt disconnected from him when this was happening. Not that I don’t want him to chill and play games. But also don’t think that we are spending time together when that is happening. Whilst he was showering I thought I would check my Facebook account, and Mum had just messaged, so I messaged back and then used Face-time to talk with her. It was awesome, a real highlight. She was stoked too.

Hubby went up the street for supplies whilst I created lunch and semi-organised E who wasn’t coming out with us, food, drink and not to leave the house. Lunch was lovely sitting out on the veranda, E ate his in his room and C had Tacos on the bench. We head off on our cultural adventure into the unknown (but very well organised). It was a bit confusing at the start and I calmed myself by simply being present. We watched a canoe pageant, with dances from each pacific nation on board, then wandered to the Samoan presentation.  He was very funny, kept the crowd on their toes with his timing and quick sense of the hilarious. The fire making was awesome as was the tree climbing. C really enjoyed this and joined in the clapping but not the cultural eating, Hamish and Andy would be very disappointed.IMG_0027

I noticed a young man who was blind getting about and exploring this place too and I thought Yes, “YOLO” so do what you can!

A man greeted us at another presentation and was really thoughtful and kind, finding us seats in the hut and ensuring we had bamboo poles to join in the singing and percussion. C joined in too, singing along. Not sure about Hubby, but he was banging his stick too. I noticed some hula lessons, so I went and learnt the Hula, for my friend! And the boys sat and watched. We then went for a ukulele lesson and played a Hawaiian song. Simple but fun. Again C and Hubby joined in. We wandered a bit and then headed to the movie of Hawaii. It had special effects such as water and smells coming out of sprays in front of the seat, seats that moved and speakers that bought the sounds really close to you. After that it was time for dinner.

My body was starting to feel weary so this was a good time to sit down. First we were presented with a Lei, a red drink, then a table which we share with a family from San Francisco and a couple from near Las Vegas. She seemed a little unhappily married, he seemed a bit unhappy too. They were plugging away at it: exciting trips each year, family to moan about and looking out for each other; 36 years married, Longing for one of her sons to get married. The other family had the cutest young boy with a super cool hat. They were quitter, but still really nice. Dinner was a buffet and certainly not what a Hawaiian king would eat…teriyaki beef??? I think not. Still it was delicious. The Taro bread rolls were full on purple which astounded me. I don’t think I have eaten anything that colour before. The taro pudding for dessert was also purple and I really couldn’t come at that.

IMG_0053

Waiting around for the “HA Breath of Life” show to begin was a bit tiring. I so hoped it would be good….and it was. The dancing was awesome, hearing the languages of the pacific nations and the fire dancing was magical. At interval C and I had sweets, some sort of gelato with pineapple. It was a bit too sweet, although refreshing, so I shared the second half of mine with Hubby.

In the show the father dies, and the ancestors are represented by people in white. It is very moving, the story is beautiful and very cleverly designed and seamlessly executed. Many people stand at the end, an ovation or good it’s finished? They are clapping but they are also rushing for the exits. I don’t feel swept away enough to stand, but perhaps I am waiting for that big moment that blows me away; instead of standing in appreciation of all the smaller moments that blow me away by shifting my perspective just a little. Perhaps now is the time to buy in to the good in the world and move forward on this journey of my life. I’ve been doing it anyway even though I haven’t always acknowledged it.

Home and all is well. E looks as relaxed as I have seen him. I have the opportunity to chat a little about the show and about the geckos in the house. It is nice. I sit outside and watch the stars. Hubby joins me and we share a lovely time together just watching the world go by. There are some people across the road being a bit raucous, but they don’t bother us. We feel safe a secure in this little oasis of ours. Shower time and then writing. My tummy feels a bit upset and my hip feels a bit out of whack. The shower is delightful and allows me to breathe again. I am tired so now is the time for a restful sleep. Melatonin again and a simple prayer of a sweet sleep that brings the beauty of the morning.

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Energy, Healing, Love, Marriage, Parenting, Teenagers, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 4: bring on the culture!

  1. Janet says:

    I am so enjoying reading these – keep looking out for the next chapter! 😉

    Like

  2. I have really enjoyed reading your Hawaiian blogs…love them.. I am so glad you went. My college roommates were all from Hawaii…so over the years we have been a few times…I love the culture of the Native Hawaiians – all of it is awesome but the language and songs make my heart sing…Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

