Hawaii – Journey to the spiritual center.

Monday 21st July 2014

A lazy start to a very sticky day. The rain had hit hard last night, and a light drizzle persisted on and off. The plan was to head to the Birthing stones, Kukaniloko, and we decided to go ahead. C was less than impressed but accepted what needed to be. He and his brother have had great difficulties in the past, so I have difficulty trusting them together, without one of us present. He was incredibly doubtful that there would be anything at the Birthing stones for him. He was probably right. I didn’t try to talk it up.

We didn’t have a map, but had looked at a map the night before, as a consequence we almost made it there. We noticed an oddly parked car on the side of the road, all around it was high growing crops. We laughed at the absurdity of parking there. We turned at that point and traveled a long way up the road, and started to get concerned we had come the wrong way. We had, we ended up in an American Naval Base.  Obviously we were not the first to do this, so the guard was polite, and good humored and allowed us to turn around without ID or any type of interrogation. Phew!
Back to where we had come from and this time we easily found the site. It was where we had commented on and laughed at the strangely parked car…very “cool” of us to make fun of that car, and then proceed to join it 10 minutes later.

The entrance was shaped like a birthing canal. A narrow path (wide enough for a car) bordered with large stones.

IMG_0167 Two sentinel stones guarding the entrance, and then across a grassy ocean there were the red stones. Carved and polished into dips and crevices, flat sections and holds. There were an assortment of shapes. The main one seemed to almost be an altar, where a baby could be laid whilst liquid poured from them. It reminded me of a sacrifice stone, and perhaps the gods needing appeasing to ensure the good birth of the nobility, for this is where the nobility of Hawaii came to give birth, the central part of Oahu. I felt there was a sadness to this place. The babies lost before they were born, the mothers that died during the birthing and the mothers and babes that died together. It was beautiful but had a harsher reality than simply the magic of birth. It was a very feminine place and I understood after a while why Hubby was getting much out of it, and why C was so irritated being here.

I watched Japanese people offering energy and perhaps feeling the energy of this place. It IMG_0171was very quiet and it felt out of place surrounded by the crops and farmlands. I spent some time by myself in the quiet, offering healing to this place. I was called upon to open a door for the safe passage of these babies through to the next place; I passed them through gently to the beings of light on the other side. Some mothers joined the babies on their path too. It was beautiful and peaceful. The healing was for the place where so much blood had been spilled. The rock and the soil were red.

I returned to the car and apologized to C for speaking so sharply. I now get it. How foreign this place would feel to him and how the sadness would be overwhelming. Even if he is not consciously aware there would be an affect on him, a heaviness he perhaps doesn’t choose to experience. I feel blessed that I have the support of my family in traveling to these places and that they honor and respect my journey enough to give me the time and space to do and be what I need to.

We headed off for lunch and stopped for lunch at the Seven Brothers Burgers. The meal was delicious. Very, very satisfying. It was huge!IMG_0185.JPG

We got a couple of Acai bowls take away and enjoyed them very much. E had this for lunch, or part of it at least. It was incredibly hot. So I thought I would go for a walk down to the beach. Hubby said he would join me and E piped up that he was up for a swim. My peaceful sit on the beach became a dynamic swim. I was actually very pleased. There was still some drift wood in the ocean, and still lots of debris. It was refreshing although we became a bit disturbed about the rip we seemed to be caught in. We wandered backup the beach to the house. E showered and Hubby and I hosed ourselves off in the outdoor shower. A great decadency! It was so refreshingly cool.

An hour or so later I wandered down to the rock cliff to meditate. It was breath taking to be sitting just above the ocean, waves pounding beneath, sun at my back and a gentle breeze on my face. I enjoyed simply breathing and bringing myself into the here and now. The return walk was slow and gentle. The house is still clammy and hot.

Hubby went up to the shops and organised the final supplies and we sat outside for a glass or two of wine. I organised dinner and we sat together. It was really special. I think we are all looking forward to some more normal, breathable weather. I did a bit of tidy up and cleaning as did Hubby. Hubby suggested a walk, it was just on dusk. My first instinct was no. E had been upset and swearing about or to his game. I’m never really sure. His voice can be very loud and aggressive sounding and it sets me on edge. I was tired and feeling drained. So I checked in again with myself and thought why not, I will trust the universe and it’s a great chance to spend a few moments together and enjoy the beauty that is surrounding us.

It was lovely, the snails and frogs/toads seemed to be out in force. The beach sand was looking pink as the light changed in the sky. Hubby wandered down to the water, I stayed on the sand and continued to bring myself into the present moment. I will miss this place. Tomorrow is a new day. We start on Tuesday and end on Wednesday . The flight home is 12 hours. It will be a very short day.

This is the final Post of the trip to Hawaii Peace and Lovexx

 

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hawaii – Journey to the spiritual center.

  1. Janet says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this journey with us. I have so enjoyed reading all about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

