Feathering the nest of Self-Love

Early on I learnt to fly
With my own two wings
No-one needed to guide…

Sibling chicks squabbled
Adult chicks feared confrontation
Hiding is learnt, in the Love that was…

Awkward and different
Laughter and criticism followed
Hidden shame and hidden guilt…

Looking for and Reading the signs
Following new paths
Watery markers from which I’d been starved…

Plump and strong
Grew my defenses
I know what I am…

Forced dieting
Forced conformity
Forced quietness…

Voice rang clear with my songs
Spreading wings I barreled
Speeding to new destinations…

Imprinting: I’m imperfect
I’m unworthy
I’m despise-able…

Watching others fly
Following their paths to new places
Learning to fight the conformity…

Singing my own song
Re-visiting my nest family
Through new loves awaiting…

Raising chicks of my own
Recognizing learnt patterns
Choosing not ever to inflict…

Still holding the imprint
Second guessing my worth
Innocence lost…

Holding wings with the young one
Who imprinted the unworthy
I guide her back safely…

Innocence was lost
Now re-igniting
Feathering the self nest of Love…

Reflections in the water
My face of beauty and scars
Reveal the perfection of my imperfect one…

Light dances over
Moon beams brighten yet
The night-time of darkness…

The Mo-poke calls out
You are worthy, you are loved
I listen whole hearted…

The beat of my heart
Clearly reconciles this truth
The flight is ongoing…

This flight to self-love
Is a step I am willing to take
By the Grace of God I will not fall…

Mistakes I will make
I will hold myself gently
Compassion over flows with Grace…

One feather at a time
I gently weave
A gift of Self-Love for me…

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Energy, Healing, Insight, Parenting, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

