Shadows of Memories

Looking back to the past what do you see?
The joy and laughter, happy and free…
Riding on the back of the bike with your Dad
Been thrown in the air, landing in the water without care
Climbing the hay stacks, running from Arnold the pig
Playing with the chickens, singing them to sleep
Watching the moon light up the night sky
Wondering why you still can’t read at night
Wandering through pine forests, dank and rich in smell
Walking for eons, getting lost and then found
Laying with eyes closed for mothers kiss on your brow
Falling asleep at the dances, nestled on Mum’s lap
Pretending to sleep when home, waiting to be carried in
Singing aloud, riding home from school
Avoiding the dogs who were vicious and cruel
Visiting the old man for toffees so sweet
Avoiding his hands, running quick upon feet
Ping pong ball games in the hall way
Dancing to Elvis, with great abandon
Fearing the Darlecs would attack at any time
Avoiding my siblings who approached with “exterminate”
Borrowing my sisters clothes, make-up and shoes
Knowing the consequences were serious
Reading books on my bed of mystery and romance
Knowing I was leaving, never returning, no chance
Little elephant, Baby, King of the Dunce Heads, Scab
Terms of endearment, mine to me was the Angel
Picking at sores, sucking my bottom lip
Twisting my hair on my tongue, biting nails
Competing in everything, willing to give it a go
Tennis, Volleyball, Badminton, Netball, Basketball…
Beauty, Intelligence, Quick wit were someone else
Peace keeper, gentle one, comforting were I
What has been forgotten, left out and why?
Memory is a funny thing, we can skew it to our will
Facing the shadows comes at the cost of growing true
Families are not perfect, but the perfectly match
The challenges you need to grow, overcome and dispatch
The belief that were formed that no longer suit where you are
Habits that were taught without thinking a far
Negativity and regret are choices you can make
I am grateful for the gifts each member of mine gave.

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Fear, Healing, Insight, PositivePsychology, Relationships, Spiritual connections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

