Filling thine cup with Richness

The image of a golden goblet floats in my head, inset with jewels, overflowing with riches; as opposed to the glass, empty and see through. Which is thine cup, the goblet or the glass? Who is topping you up and who is draining you? Does it really matter? Where does it leave you?

My cup flows empty of the richness of life
It is drained by the encounters, for real and in my mind
I know not how to fill it, and keep it to myself
It sloshes out with no effort to all I can help.

Intentional actions to care for the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual self
Is what I need to do to overcome the barriers to my health
The richness of life surrounds me every step of the way
In the crisis and confusion I lose out, I become frayed

Dry as the desert, the sand blows about
An occasional oasis I create time out for myself
And it is then that I feel restored and ready to face
The world at my doorstep I can re-embrace

I make not a complaint but I have yet to learn
How to but in healthy limits and still care for my young
The creative nurturer, ready to give her all
At the slightest of asking, at the smallest of calls

The default I have laid down is to eat food that soothes
Hot potatoes, chocolate, lollies help to ease the moods
In reality they fill me up and self loathing begins
This is not self-care and I need to change and create a new spin

There are things I do well and things I need to work on
My eyes have been opened and I am now ready to begin
Eating fruit and veg, exercising 5 times a week
Journal-ling daily and setting limits to keep.

I will not fail me now for it’s my life on the line
It is time to be generous and care for mine
If I am filled with richness of energy and hope
I can offer much more within limits, and I will cope.

About R Congues

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different: I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.) I am simply expressing my experience in my own unique way.
This entry was posted in Energy, Poetry, Spiritual connections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

