Thought Baggage

I’m dropping off the thought baggage
It’s time to let it all go
It’s worn and torn from mulling around
The owners tags are gone

I’ve picked it up on my journeys here and there
Some is families some is friends
Some belongs to people I don’t know
How to return? where to put? I just know it needs to go.

I’m good at carrying other peoples worries
They don’t even need to ask
Most of the time they don’t know I’ve taken it
They just feel better and move on

Stepping forward becomes more difficult
As the baggage weighs you down
It’s harder to see a bright horizon
When your head barely lifts from the ground

So I am declaring a baggage dump,
If you want it back come and collect it
I care very much about each of your lives
But mine also needs to be lived

The baggage is in the best condition I could keep it
But some of it may be so old and starting to rot
If not collected it will be recycled
About this I will worry not

When speaking next and you wonder why
Your own baggage still lies on your shoulder
It’s because I am happy to listen and support
But I choose not to carry your load

Thank-you for helping me through on my way
Distracting from my own problems
Caring and Loving I may be still
And I will deal with all of my own thought baggage from now on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About R Congues

I am a parent of two children, one who has experienced severe anxiety that became disabling in all aspects of their life. I am a teacher of Maths, Science and Religious Education with a Masters in Special Needs Education; I am a qualified Reiki master, with a love of art and creative experience. I am not a professional in the fields of psychology or medicine. (If you are interested in these perspectives there are many internet sites to use.)This blog is not about recommending medications or specific treatments.
This entry was posted in Spiritual connections. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thought Baggage

  1. lisa marion says:

    “Most of the time they don’t know I’ve taken it, They just feel better and move on”
    This really resonates with me. I was born with a care taker temperament, and raised to be one.
    Allowing others to carry their own baggage has been a difficult, but necessary transition for me. Thank you for saying it so lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

