Day 3 Hawaii and the restful family

The continued journal of our trip to Hawaii 18months ago with a son who has social anxiety and depression; it was a pivotal for our family and really helped us all to re-unite, this was a quieter day than most others as we were getting our bearings and still recovering from the long flight and adjusting to the weather.IMG_0153.JPG

Thursday 17th July 2014

Slow start to the day today. I woke up feeling sleepy, but needing to be up. C already had his iPhone, so I know he’s awake. The roosters have been most noisy. Coffee was delicious and I sat and wrote with pleasure. Croissants for C, managed to get the oven to work, although converting to degrees Celsius from Fahrenheit was quite challenging, Thank God for the internet and C’s resourcefulness. E arose at 8:30am, only to roll back into bed and sleep another couple of hours. So I cooked up a superb omelette filled with tomato, capsicum, and bacon. Great start to the day. Then a spectacular run along the beach, although, I was less than spectacular in my running, the view was supreme, mountains rising into the clouds, hiding their jagged edges.

The day was slow, we drove and purchased tickets for the show and feast tomorrow night and then, just as we were leaving for lunch… shrimp style, E announces he would like to go for a swim. Hold everything! swim and recovery occurring. It takes a little while but not as bad as the other days. I am well pleased. E stays at the house, resting and with the computer. We finally head out for shrimp and hour later and realize just how exhausted C really is. Yes he’s been playing lots of computer games, but he has also had very little sleep. It’s really hot and humid even at night. We ensure that we buy Melatonin at the pharmacy for a better sleep for him tonight. Stopped at the police station to look for my pendants, no luck. The officer found it difficult to understand my Australian-English, C told me I was speaking with an even stronger accent than normal.

I am unrepentant in my tiredness. I will walk down the beach with Hubby but there is no way I am going for a swim. It warms up significantly, but only for a short time. I read, make some salad and we eat burgers and chips. R has sighted a mouse and a frog today. I have parlayed with a rooster on the veranda. I’m sure he was after my toes. The breeze was gentle and beautiful and the birds energetic and purposeful. We watched Pirates of the Caribbean. Unbeknownst to me it uses the internet, decreasing the speed of the internet significantly. This upset E but he managed very well and got through what was obviously a difficult time. Melatonin in and time for bed. I pray for a blissful sleep and a gentle wakening.

About RC

Funny enough, this blog has become the expression of my hopes, dreams, love and experiences. It came about because of the situation I discovered I was in, and I am delighted to see it grow and heal into something different.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Healing, Parenting, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment